Three Pepper Pasta Sauce

I found this recipe in my Crock-Pot cookbook, thank you family members! I love this cookbook, I just try to make my own recipes rather than do exactly what they have typed. I’m more of an experimentalist with the food rather than anything else. I will admit, this sauce is very good and very chunky. I put a little in my food processor at a time and it still had great texture. It just depends on your preferences. Please enjoy!

Makes: 4-6 servings

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 red bell pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 yellow bell pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces

1 green bell pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces

2 cans (14 oz each) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 cup chopped onion

1 can (6 oz) tomato paste

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes or ground black pepper

English: Three bellpeppers (Capsicum annuum) f...

English: Three bellpeppers (Capsicum annuum) from three different cultivars. Français : Trois poivrons (Capsicum annuum) de trois variétés différentes. Nederlands: Drie paprika’s (Capsicum annuum) in drie verschillende varianten. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Directions:

Spray non-stick cooking spray or place a slow cooker liner in your crock pot, then combine bell peppers, tomatoes with juice, garlic, onion, tomato paste, olive oil, basil, oregano, salt and red pepper flakes in slow cooker. Cover and cook on LOW for 7-8 hours, or on HIGH for 3-4 hours or until vegetables are tender.

This sauce is great served over pasta with parmesan cheese with great garlic bread on the side.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Making Spaghetti Sauce - Far From Normal

  2. Pingback: Food: The Pasta That Made Sarah Cry « Wining Wife

Leave a comment