Caramelized Chicken Thighs

I have contemplated about what else to do with my chicken thighs that have been taking residence in my freezer since last Sunday, well….. I knew I wanted to boil them but not sure what to do with them after they’re boiled. I searched the internet, Pinterest, and even my cookbooks and to no avail, I found nothing. I thought about my last resort and that was to grill them with some homemade BBQ sauce. Then that’s when the dimmed light above my head got even brighter, I can take the sauce and pour it over the boiled/shredded chicken and bake it! Voila! A genius idea was born! I then looked up recipes for baked BBQ chicken and came up with this recipe…. I hope you enjoy it! (This is made with all-organic products)

Carmelized chicken

Here’s What You’ll Need:

1 1/2 – 2 lbs. boneless, skinless, chicken thighs

4-5 cups water

2 bay leaves

2 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:

In a stockpot, add chicken thighs (ours were frozen), seasonings (bay leaves, garlic powder, chicken bouillon cubes, salt, & pepper), cold water & olive oil.

Cover, let it come to a boil, and continue boiling for 20-30 minutes or until tender.

Remove chicken and shred in big chunks and spread into an 11×7 baking dish.

Meanwhile, you can make the sauce as follows:

Sauce:

1/2 cup soy sauce

3/4 cup ketchup

3 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 cup honey

1 tbsp. olive oil

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, add ketchup, honey, soy sauce, minced garlic, and 1 tbsp. olive oil. Whisk together until well blended and cook over medium heat and bring to a boil, continue stirring until thickened, 5-10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Pour over chicken and bake in a preheated oven on 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until well caramelized to your liking.

We served this over long grain wild rice.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

