Sour Cream Doughnuts

Its beginning to look a lot more like Autumn here in Illinois and the weather is cooperating better than expected. The weather has been fantastic! It has been in the upper 70’s throughout the week and in the mid 50’s in the evenings, I must say….. having a cookout next to the fire is a great weekend outlook for us!

Since it has been so mild in weather here in the mid-west, I have chosen to make something that won’t overheat my kitchen. What better way to start our Sunday morning off on the right foot other than making some delectable doughnuts? I came across this recipe from Pinterest (shocking….) and I thought I would give it a try, let me tell you, it was much easier than anticipated. I am NOT a fan of using much yeast (I tend to be a yeast killer) and it rarely works out for me. My eyes lit up when I saw that this recipe does NOT call for yeast! This recipe is definitely a keeper and I guarantee no one will go hungry once they place these masterpieces on their tongue…..

Sour Cream Doughnuts

Sour Cream Doughnuts

What you’ll need:

Doughnuts:

2 1/4 cup cake flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tbsp butter, room temp

2 large egg yolks

1/2 cup sour cream

Canola oil, frying

Directions:

In a bowl, sift together the cake flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg.

In a bowl of a stand mixer (paddle attachment), beat the butter and sugar together until sandy. Add the egg yolks and mix until light in color and thick. Add the dry ingredients to the mixing bowl in 3 additions alternating with the sour cream (end with the flour mixture). The dough will be sticky and somewhat hard. Cover with plastic wrap and let chill in the fridge for an hour.

After the dough has chilled, roll out the dough on a floured surface, roll out to about 1/4-1/2″ in thickness. Use a doughnut cutter to cut out as many as doughnuts as possible (I used a drinking glass and cut out the smaller hole with a paring knife). Dip the cutters often in flour so they don’t stick to the dough. You should get about 12 doughnuts and 12 holes.

Pour 2″ of Canola oil (my oil of choice) into a heavy bottomed pot with a deep-fry thermometer (I guessed). Heat to 325 F. Fry the doughnuts, a few at a time, be careful not to overcrowd….this will cause slower cooking times and will cause the dough to brown on the outside but not done on the inside. Fry each doughnut on each side for about 2 minutes (don’t let them burn). Drain on a paper towel to rid the excess grease.

Once they have cooled, we can dip them in the glaze (recipe following)…..

Glaze:

3 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar

1 1/2 tsp light corn syrup

1/4 tsp salt

1/2-3/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/3 cup hot water

Directions:

In a large bowl, whisk all ingredients together and submerge the cooled doughnuts into the glaze. Let the doughnuts set on a wire cooling rack for 20 minutes.

Here comes my favorite part……

INDULGE!!!

Hope you enjoy these, I think these are fabulous the day of making them and the next day! You don’t have to take my word for it, try it for yourself!

Leave a Reply

