Chili Mac Casserole

I know, I know, I have become a little relaxed in the blogging department lately and I truly apologize and I know that I explained it in my last post, but I am truly sorry for being non-sociable. I have been working to get my Degree in Health Information Management and I decided to take some time off and enjoy the fall/winter semester with getting my business venture off the ground as well. I am going to be back in full swing within a couple of weeks and hope to have some really great new recipes to share with everyone! Now, I have decided that this has to be one of my better casseroles but I’ll let you decide. However, we are not “casserole lovers”, but this one needed some TLC in the recipe. In addition to the ingredients shown, we added my Taco and Chili seasoning (Rubs, Marinades, and Sauces) and a little bit of red pepper flakes (we love the “kick”). It turned out great! This is great for a weeknight meal. Hope you enjoy!

Makes: 6 servings (8×8 glass baking dish / 2 qt.)

Here’s what you’ll need:

Chili mac casserole 002

1 cup uncooked wagon wheel pasta, or size equivalent such as cavatappi, rotini, etc.

1 lb. lean ground beef

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper

1 can (15 oz) chili with beans

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 cup crushed tortilla chip scoops

Chili mac casserole 012

1 cup (4 oz) shredded cheese, divided

1/4 cup instant rice (optional)

1 Tbsp Taco and Chili Seasoning (my recipe – rubs, marinades, and sauces)

1 tsp chili powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp black pepper

red pepper flakes to taste

Directions:

Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large non-stick skillet, cook the beef, onion, salt, pepper, and bell pepper over medium heat until beef is no longer pink; drain…..

Chili mac casserole 009

Add the diced tomatoes…..

Chili mac casserole 010

Stir in the canned chili…..

Chili mac casserole 011

Add tortilla chips…..

Chili mac casserole 013

Add 1/2 cup cheese….

Chili mac casserole 015

Add 1/4 cup rice…..

Chili mac casserole 014

Add the chili powder and my Taco & Chili Seasoning….

Chili mac casserole 016

Drain pasta and add to the meat and chili mixture….

Chili mac casserole 017

Transfer to a 2 qt. (8×8) baking dish and add remaining cheese…..

Chili mac casserole 019

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes or until cheese is melted and browned…..

Chili mac casserole 023

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

