Taco Chili

It was a very cold and rainy day here in the midwest and I was NOT attempting to leave the house for anything. I knew I was making chili tonight but I wanted something with a little heat and some tantalizing spice to it. So I found a recipe for taco chili. I added Rotel tomatoes and Jalapenos to the mix and used 1 Tbsp of my own taco/chili seasoning mix (spices, rubs, and marinades category). We served this chili with cornbread! Mmm!

Makes:  6 servings

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 lb. ground beef or turkey (shredded chicken would work great too!)

1/2 large onion, chopped

1 (15 oz) can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1 (10 oz) can Rotel tomatoes

1 (28 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce

1 packet of taco seasoning mix

1 packet of ranch dressing mix (I use 1 Tbsp from the small container that I have)

small amount of jalapenos (depends on your heat preference)

Directions:

In a large stock pot, over medium heat, brown the beef and the onion until cooked through……

taco chili 002

Once the beef is cooked, add the Rotel…..

taco chili 003

Add the diced tomatoes…..

taco chili 004

Add the tomato sauce…..

taco chili 005

The ranch dressing mix…..

taco chili 006

The taco seasoning…..

taco chili 007

The can of kidney beans…..

taco chili 008

Bring to a boil……

taco chili 009

Once boiling, reduce heat and let simmer for 15-30 minutes or until heated through and ready to eat! Mmm!

I like to serve mine over cornbread!

 

Leave a Reply

