Beef and Broccoli with Peppers

Have I stated how much I love my slow cooker?? Well, I LOVE MY SLOW COOKER! Hopefully you could “hear” me 🙂 I love the slow process of cooking, just goes to prove that “patience is a virtue”, especially when we prepare meals for the ones we love. I found a recipe that I changed, of course, and this recipe has been tried so many times by other cooks and websites, that I finally thought I would have a go at it and give it a try. I love Beef and Broccoli and I decided that if I try a little bit of Capsicum (bell peppers) in my recipe at the end, it would have even better flavor…so that’s what I did. I sure hope you enjoy! I sure as heck know that we sure did! 😉

Makes: 4-6 servings

Here’s what you’ll need:

beef, broccoli, and peppers 007

1 cup water

1 beef bouillon cube

1/3 cup brown sugar

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/3 cup soy sauce

1 Tbsp sesame seed oil

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

2 pounds beef stew meat

7-8 mini sweet peppers (bell peppers), sliced thinly (or equivalent to 2 regular-sized, sliced bell peppers)

2 Tbsp cornstarch

16-24 oz. broccoli florets (frozen)

Directions:

Place liner in slow cooker, or spray with non-stick cooking spray. Turn slow cooker on LOW and place the beef stew meat in the slow cooker along with the soy sauce….

beef, broccoli, and peppers 009

Brown sugar…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 010

Sesame seed oil…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 011

Ground Ginger, Crushed red pepper flakes, water, and beef boullion cube…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 012 And minced garlic…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 013

Toss (mix well) to coat. Cover and cook on LOW for 7-8 hours….

beef, broccoli, and peppers 014

After the 7-8 hours of cooking time, remove about 3 Tbsp of sauce from the slow cooker and combine with the 2 Tbsp of cornstarch to make a slurry…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 017

Pour and stir the slurry into the beef mixture in the slow cooker and let thicken before adding remaining ingredients……

beef, broccoli, and peppers 018

Add broccoli (as much as you want and you don’t have to thaw broccoli)

beef, broccoli, and peppers 025

Slices of bell peppers….

beef, broccoli, and peppers 022

Stir to combine again and continue to cook on LOW for 15-20 minutes to thicken the sauce…. (this also cooks the broccoli to a desired tenderness and the same for the bell peppers)…..

beef, broccoli, and peppers 027

During this time you can (follow the product instructions) make your rice. We used brown rice. This dish has great flavor without excessive amounts of MSG….

beef, broccoli, and peppers 029

Please enjoy!

Leave a Reply

