Apple Butter Barbecue Chicken

Chicken was on the agenda this evening. Like usual, I always get stuck on what to prepare when it comes to chicken….why is that? Am I the only one that can’t decide what to do with chicken?? Sooooooo, I looked and looked for a recipe that was gonna catch my eye, and I found a couple but not anything that said, “MAKE ME!” So I knew that apples go well with chicken (and pork) and I had made homemade apple butter last week and I thought I would add a few other things like barbecue sauce, and brown sugar. I wanted the recipe to be easy, speaking as though it has been a long day and we were ready to relax. I found a similar recipe at Taste of Home and I thought I would give it a try…of course, there were some changes made. The chicken turned out very moist and the sauce was peppery and sweet! Please enjoy!

Makes: 4 servings

Here’s what you’ll need:

apple butter barbecue chicken 002

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup apple butter

2/3 cup barbecue sauce (I use Vidalia Onion flavored)

2 Tbsp brown sugar (slightly heaping)

1 tsp chili powder

Directions:

Sprinkle chicken with black pepper…..

apple butter barbecue chicken 003

In a large skillet, brown chicken in oil on both sides…..(our chicken breasts were huge and the package only had 3 breasts this time)

apple butter barbecue chicken 004

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients…..

apple butter barbecue chicken 005

Stir until thoroughly combined and pour (or spoon) over chicken….

apple butter barbecue chicken 006

apple butter barbecue chicken 009

Cover and cook for 7-10 minutes longer or until an internal thermometer reads 165 degrees…..

apple butter barbecue chicken 012

We served this up with glazed carrots and dinner rolls….YUM!

apple butter barbecue chicken 013

PLEASE ENJOY!

 

Leave a Reply

