Kidney Bean Salad

It is such a beautiful day here…the temps are almost 50 and the sun is shining. The weather actually got me in the grilling mood today. Anyway, whenever we grill out (OK not all the time, but most of the time) Josh asks for kidney bean salad. I roll my eyes, but I make it anyway. I change it up all the time and I have actually made it to where I’ll eat more than one serving! I added a little dijon mustard and some Borsari seasoning. (The Borsari seasoning can be found at www.kingarthurflour.com.) I hope you try this salad and enjoy it! I sure know I have. 🙂

Makes: 4 servings

Here’s what you’ll need:

Kidney Bean salad 001

1 (16 oz) can red kidney beans

1 hard boiled egg

2 stalks celery, diced

3 green onions, chopped

1/4 bell pepper (I used an orange bell pepper)

3 Tbsp sweet relish

1 Tbsp dijon mustard

3 Tbsp Miracle whip (or mayonnaise)

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

small pinch of Borsari seasoning

Directions:

Drain kidney beans and rinse, then drain again and set aside.

Kidney Bean salad 003

In a small bowl, combine miracle whip, celery, onions, bell pepper, dijon mustard, sweet relish, salt and pepper, and borsari (optional)….

Kidney Bean salad 002

Fold in kidney beans….

Kidney Bean salad 004

and fold in hard boiled egg….

Kidney Bean salad 006

Refrigerate for about an hour and serve chilled.

Kidney Bean salad 008

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

