Veggie Omelet

OK…it’s official, I have started a diet (it’s not a new years resolution) and I am ready for my mind and body to take a different path…I will still be posting the same type of recipes, but I’ll also be adding more healthy alternatives as well! I started WW and I am loving it so far and this is one of the recipes that I had of my own and we fell in love with it….I don’t normally eat breakfast, but I chose to make omelets today and with egg beaters! It actually tasted amazing! It has a little spice due to the onions and the southwest flavor of egg beaters that were used but I highly recommend using veggies to keep it healthy. Here’s the recipe, I sure hope you like it!

Makes: 1 omelet

Cook Time: 8 minutes or so

Here’s what you’ll need:

Veggie Omelet 001

3/4 cup egg beaters

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp olive oil or non-stick cooking spray

1/4 medium onion

1/4 bell pepper

2 Tbsp shredded cheese

Directions:

In a large non-stick skillet, spray bottom of pan with non-stick cooking spray or drizzle olive oil in bottom of pan, turn heat to medium. Once the oil is heated, pour in egg mixture and tilt pan to cover entire bottom of the pan.

Veggie Omelet 006

Cook without stirring until bottom of the eggs are beginning to set, about 30 seconds….

Veggie Omelet 007

Edges of the eggs should be easy to remove from the sides of the skillet….

Veggie Omelet 008

Sprinkle veggies and cheese across the eggs evenly….

Veggie Omelet 009

Cook eggs moving skillet back and forth over heat until cooked through 3-4 minutes. Lift one side and then proceed to fold over….

Veggie Omelet 010

Fold in half to serve…

Veggie Omelet 011

Garnish with shredded cheese, parsley, tomaotes, etc…if desired.

Veggie Omelet 013

 

Leave a Reply

