Sour Cream Noodle Bake

Hello! Hello! Hello!

I am so glad that the holidays are approaching and that we have so much food to be consumed…however, I will be partaking in the cooking part, just not so much of the eating part since I am one of the lucky “gotta watch my weight” type of people. Therefore, this recipe lead me to believe that before I restrict myself, I should consume the creamiest and most fattening casserole on earth and I can give “Thanks” to Ree Drummond from “The Pioneer Woman”. I prepared this dish last night and I must say, it’s full of creaminess and should come with a warning label! I made a few changes from the original (you should expect that by now):

Cottage cheese = ricotta cheese

Greek yogurt = sour cream

Grated cheddar cheese = shredded pepper jack cheese

I did NOT add the cheese mixture to the noodles, I layered it all.

Now on to the important part… READY?? Here it goes!!

Servings: 6

Here’s what you’ll need:

sour cream noodle bake 002

1 1/4 pound ground chuck

3 heaping Tbsp of Tomato paste

1/2 tsp salt

Freshly ground black pepper

8 oz., (weight) egg noodles

1/2 cup sour cream

1 1/4 cup of ricotta cheese

1/2 of an onion, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1 cup of grated (shredded) pepper jack cheese

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Brown ground chuck in a large skillet…

sour cream noodle bake 003

Drain fat, add tomato paste, onion, bell pepper, salt, and black pepper. Let simmer while you prepare the other ingredients…

sour cream noodle bake 006

Cook egg noodles until  al dente. Drain and set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine sour cream and ricotta cheese (add a little bit of salt and black pepper). Stir until well combined, (you can mix the cheese mixture with the drained noodles or just pour half of it on top of the noodles)…

sour cream noodle bake 010

To assemble, add half the noodles to an 11×7 (or 13×9…preference really) baking dish. Top with half the meat mixture…

sour cream noodle bake 011

sour cream noodle bake 012

Then the cheese mixture… you get the idea ;)

Sprinkle on the pepper jack cheese…

sour cream noodle bake 013

Repeat with the layers again (pepper jack cheese on top)… I also added a little bit of cheddar too!

sour cream noodle bake 016

Bake for 20 minutes (13×9) or until cheese is melted. (time will depend on the size of baking dish)…

sour cream noodle bake 018

Mmm! (that’s all I can say with food in my mouth)….please enjoy!!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

