Pumpkin Pie Muffins (Leftover pie filling)

I’m what you call a bit of a Penny Pincher (sometimes)and I have realized that if I have leftover ingredients from something that I have made, I look to make something else from that leftover mixture. This is where I found a recipe from The Rescue Baker online and I needed to use leftover pumpkin pie filling which I had already mixed with the eggs, evaporated milk, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, etc… I was amazed at the richness and texture from this leftover miracle! It’s quick and easy…let’s get started! www.therescuebaker.com

Cook Time: 20-25 minutes

Makes: 9 muffins

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/4 cups leftover pumpkin pie filling (this is how much I had leftover)

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 cup flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup milk

chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)

Directions:

Pre heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, mix together the leftover pie filling, brown sugar, flour, baking powder, and milk until well blended…

Pour batter into muffin tins lined with paper baking cups or spray tins with non-stick cooking spray. Fill muffin cups 2/3 of the way full, I used a 1/3 measuring cup to dip out the batter into the muffin cups/tins…

Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes…check for firmness.

Let muffins cool before placing the muffins on a wire rack to finish cooling completely…

Enjoy!

Please make sure that you are using the filling that is already made from making a pumpkin pie. If you use just canned pumpkin pie filling and the remaining ingredients in this recipe, they turn out dense and heavy.

41 Comments

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Muffins Using (Leftover pie filling) | Holly & Ivy - Holiday Cheer & Recipes | Scoop.it

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Muffins using Pumpkin Pie Filling | Bento Days

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie | Delusional Mom

  4. Aurelia says:

    Thank you so much!!! We were looking for something like this, simple and delicious. We were kind of in a pumpkin mood, making pumpkin pie, pumpkin coffee, pumpkin soup, ect. I came upon this recipe and loved it, so did my family!

  5. Pingback: PUMPKIN! What can you do with all of it? | myfortuneforpie

  6. Keara Reilly says:

    These were SO good. I also, couldn’t bare? bear? I never know, to throw away the left over pie filling and found your recipe. I added a little imitation rum flavoring, dark chocolate chunks and vanilla. Highly recommend. Thank you so much for bringing these little buddies into my life and belly :)

  7. Kristen says:

    Also solves the problem of what to do in between turning the pumpkin pie oven from 425 to 350! It took me exactly 15 minutes to make the muffins, which is the time you keep the oven at 425. Funny…always wondered if anyone had that leftover problem. Thanks!

  8. Jenny says:

    Just made a pumpkin pie and had about a cup of leftover filling. I followed your directions to the letter (except I did mini-muffins) and am totally in love with these pumpkin muffins!! If the pie is half as good as these muffins, I’ll be thrilled! Thank you for sharing!

  9. William Naab says:

    I doubled this recipe last night, and converted it to gluten free with sorghum and rice flours, and potato starch (+xanthan gum) I baked it in a 13×9 cake pan and added an extra 10 minutes to the baking time, but could have added an another 10 on top of that. I ate a piece this morning for breakfast (what can I say, I’m a sugar freak at 3 AM) and it was great. It didn’t have any of the usual gluten free cake bitterness. It just needs some cream cheese frosting to top it all off. Thanks for the great recipe. I’ll never throw out the extra pumpkin pie filling again.

    • Cori says:

      I’m so happy you got to enjoy the recipe in GF form! I will definitely keep your recipe changes so that I can better accommodate a few friends! Psst…I’m a sugar freak too!

  10. chrysalis2oh says:

    This was great. I used approx. 1.25 cups of flour to my 2 c. leftover pie filling. It already had milk, eggs, etc. so I left off the milk. Came out great in mini loaf pan. I got about 7 loaves!

  11. andrea says:

    so glad i found your recipe! i had extra pumpkin pie filling ( i added praline pecans to recipe )…it was soooooo good! i will add your website to my ‘favourites” and will also put on my facebook page. thanx again!!! i will be adding this to my fave recipes….

  12. David says:

    I doubled your quantities and baked a cake out of it. It’s a lot like pumpkin bread, but with more spices, and delicious. Thanks!

  13. Pingback: pumpkin pie without the pumpkin | Twice Knit

  14. i had exactly 1 1/4 cups of the pumpkin pie filling left and I am sooo happy I found your website! These turned out soooooo good!! I made a cinnamon cream cheese frosting, but they were perfectly delicious without it! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

